Cymbal matching

lllWiCKlll

Howdy people. I just started playing a few weeks ago and I have to say that things are progressing a lot faster than I thought. I haven't bought any cymbals, other than hats, because I wanted to get a good feel for the "main 3". I love rock and metal and that's the direction I want to go with my playing. I've looked all over the net at different types and brands of cymbals so I know how expensive they can get. Before I buy any, I wanted to get some ideas from experienced drummers on what combo's will produce the rock/metal sound without breaking the bank. Brand, size, and type are what i'm looking for. I'm definately getting a crash and a ride and possibly one more. Any help I can get would be GREATLY appreciated.

Start by identifying the basics of the cymbal you're looking for. Bright/Dark, light medium heavy, general size ranges etc. Rock & Metal have some common standards, look up your favorite groups and see what they're using. It's so subjective and personal that I don't feel I can recommend something in particular.

For matching it's important to play them together, even within the same brand & model you may need to play different cymbals before you notice a solid match that works for you. This isn't always practical but it is ideal. If your shop/used seller is nice enough to let you bring in your existing hats to find a match try it.

All of the cymbal companies who want to make good cymbals do make good cymbals. I prefer Sabian, but I have owned Paiste, Zildjian, and Meinl cymbals since I started playing drum set in 1969.

Check out this http://www.newb8pro.com and you may find what you are looking for. The online store with the best prices that I have found is Midwest Percussion. Good luck.

All of the cymbal companies who want to make good cymbals do make good cymbals. I prefer Sabian, but I have owned Paiste, Zildjian, and Meinl cymbals since I started playing drum set in 1969.