Triplet note dilemma

Cyran

I've just recently started to study music theory because I'm a new drummer (started this year with no previous musical knowledge).
To get straight to the point. From a site (and I think many others use the same reasoning):

"• Sixteenth-Note Triplet: Equals two sixteenth-notes (or one eighth-note).
• Quarter-Note Triplet: Equals two quarter-notes (one half-note)."

To me this is wrong or just confusing. I guess that they are hinting at two pairs of sixteenth-notes and one pair of eighth-notes.

Because we know that: two eighth-notes equals four sixteenth-notes. Therefore in my line of reasoning, a sixteenth-note triplet is comprised of four eighth-notes, NOT two, as in the quote. Also how can a sixteenth-note triplet equal two sixteenth-notes when there is four whole sixteenth-note triplets in a bar of 4/4. So according to them there is only eight sixteenth-notes in a bar of 4/4? It's just so sloppy writing, they should say two pairs of sixteenth-notes!

Because how else would you point out a single note in a swing triplet like this:

https://imgur.com/a/9nMJTBF

If you follow the line of reasoning as in the quote then there is no way to describe the single notes in triplets. Because if you say quarter-note triplet and refer to a whole triplet containing three notes, then what do you call the single note to the left in the picture?

Obviously you cant call it a quarter note and if you call it a quarter-note triplet then many people think you are talking about the whole triplet.

So my proposal is to say for instance "quarter-note triplet-note" to properly describe the left note in the picture and clear up any confusion.

Or for instance when describing a 16th note triplet, saying that it has six 16th-note triplet-notes. That way you can talk about the individual notes within a triplet without any confusion.

Last edited:
The individual notes in a triplet, are called partials. The first partial, second partial etc.