Anyone ever share a kick drum between two drummers?

deltdrum

Starting a dual drummer project. I'm not a fan of the aesthetic of having two separate drum kits onstage, so I plan on having both drummers facing each other and sharing a bass drum.

Anyone ever done this? Any tips with it?

What will the sound be when you both hit the drum at the same time? I can see no air, therefore sound, being moved, but I'm not a sonic engineer. The batter moves the air that moves the reso, but your partner is hitting the reason can cancelling that out. I can see you both sitting side ways with the bass drums next to each other but not sharing.

Have you ever played a double stop on a marching bass drum?

Basically that.

The air from one head will heat another, which will cause it to vibrate, generating really really obnoxious rebound and throwing off your groove.

Sharing a bass drum is just too intimate....like maybe sharing a cigarette.
No really, I can't see it work. If either of you hits the batter on the same beat. There will be wave of interference - how will your wave resonate if offset by his?
Let us know how it works out.

You'll need a righty and lefty for that.

And a pedal like this:

Off-Set%20Double%20Bass%20Drum%20Pedal.jpg

http://www.off-set.net/Off-Set/Double_Bass_Drum_Pedal.html

I agree with others, one bass drum would not be good.

But here's an idea for you. Assuming that both drummers are right handed, or both are left handed; put the two base drums right next to each other.
Use one rack tom and one floor tom on each kit. One hi hat and one snare for each kit.
BUT, have the cymbals set up so that the two drummers share the same cymbals. The cymbals would need to be positioned sort of low and flat.

If you carefully time your beater strike, you might just be able to bounce him straight off this drum throne...........just like kids on a trampoline.