Bands/ Projects not working out

GuelphPercussionist

Hi, I'm a high school student who has jammed in about 4 projects/bands, all of which have gone under. I am wondering how many projects you guys have been in, and how many actually seem to work. Also, any tips on finding good mates, and anything else related to that. I'm at the point of just playing by myself, which I do like, but I would still like to play with other people. Thanks a lot.

Be patient, You will be in many bands before one works out. When you find one that works, something will go wrong and that band will die also! Get used to it! It is a right or passage.
Meeting your wife will be easier than finding the right band!

At the very real risk of sounding patronizing, I would say that as a high school student, perhaps your expectations are a little high at this point. I would take advantage of the fact that other than school and possibly a part-time job, you are not burdened with the hassles of adulthood, making a living so you can pay your bills, etc. Bands and musical experiences at that point are supposed to be fun and instructional, not necessarily perfection.

Very few musicians in high school are in great bands or successful projects. Your pool of fellow musicians to play with is probably somewhat limited right now, you may not be exposed to a lot of different musical styles or genres, and quite honestly, it's a lot to expect of a group of teenagers to be focused and success-oriented on something that to them may just be fun, or a hobby, to them.

I played in several bands in high school, with varying degrees of seriousness, and we had very modest goals - a talent show here and there, and to have fun. We recorded songs on a crappy little tape recorder (this was probably 20 years before ProTools). We learned our instruments, and made decisions on how much music would be an ongoing part of our lives.