Being a drummer and a dad.

DanBed27

Hi guys,

I'm a professional drummer living in Montreal and I just had a baby boy. Life is great as we're learning how to deal with this little creature now. Obviously, some nights are short but that's part of it. I was curious to hear your stories about your life as a drummer and a dad. How did you deal with that? How did it change your life? For the better hopefully?

And I was also curious to know about famous drummers who have kids. I know Peter Erskine, Dave Weckl, Steve Gadd, Steve Smith, Keith Carlock have kids (probably a lot of other guys too). Have you ever heard their stories about their life as drummers and dads?

(btw, does Vinnie Colaiuta have kids? Tried to find that answer and couldn't).

Thanks for your input,

Well, I'm not much of a drummer and my kids are grown up - and I'm a mum not a dad! - so anything I said on the subject would probably be meaningless, but I would like to congratulate you on the birth of your little boy :) I can promise you a rollercoaster of pleasure and pain that you wouldn't be without for a minute.

I saw Jason Bonham and his band this past summer.During intermission an old film clip of him,and his mom and dad was playing on the big screen.Jason would be about three years old at the time playing a small kit. amazingly at that. It was real experience to see this. A little emotional actually.

Being a dad and a professional musician is tough. It means you're "on" all the time. It's the best of both worlds, though. I don't know what to say except that it's difficult finding time to drum when they're home all the time. I got my kids a mini drum set, showed them how to put on headphones when they play, and then played "repeat after me" a whole ton. It's fun.