Morddred

Hi,
I’m new to drumming, taking it up at the grand old age of 55. Any hints, tips or advice would be gratefully received. I have had to stop playing guitar because arthritis is a bitch, but drumming seems to be helping. I am also really enjoying it.
As I said any help or advice is more than welcome.

Welcome Aboard!

Not sure I have any words of advice, other than enjoy! and find friends to play with, but you'll find tons of useful and friendly advice here on everything drum-related.

Welcome. I would spend a lot of time reading through this forum. Spend time on the Tecnique section and don’t waste time asking “what is the best (fill in the blank). You will get a lot of opinion that will only comfuse. Also go to Youtube and Search drum lessons but ignore anything from Expert Village. There are so many questions and answers on this forum, you could spend the next 55 years reading but that is Ok. And as a newbie familiarize yourself with the forum rules and please post questions in the proper section, now go have fun. Johnny

Last edited:
Welcome! I am glad you are here. There is a lot of solid information on this forum and all over the internet. Always remember to have fun!!

Welcome you've to the right place I hope you "stick"around cause this place has a plethora of drummers from beginners to pros (a great bunch, supportive, and one of most civil forums I've ever participated) and DW is a cornucopia of knowledge and info-I've often argued encyclopedic. Bernhard should write a Encyclopedia and call it "Ask Drummerworld" which would be a condensed version of about every drum-percussion, recording, music, industry, technology, business related question you could think of that has been asked here. It's too funny how many drum related searches I"ve done that leads you to DW.