Need inspiration, I've hit a wall

stillgroovin

Im going to write this with the hope it doesn't sound like whining. I'm a self taught drummer thats been playing for over 25 years. I took a hiatius from drumming while I was in the Air Force and in the last 5 years. got back into the instrument I love hot and heavy. I bought a kit that I could afford and a great snare along with Paiste cymbals. I am good but have hit a brick wall. I cant affors lesssons from a pro and feel that i have learned all I can from DVD's but just cant break that almost self taught barrier to really good. Im too old to go out on the band circuit again but want more out of the instrument. Am I making any sense? Been so long since i giged with other musicians that my confidence is shot. besides, who wants a 50YO drummer now anyhow. Just sayin.......

check out stanton moore's "take it to the streets" dvds, it's inspiration on camera! benny greb's, "the language of drumming" is phenomenal. billy martin put out a dvd recently, "life on drums". he really pushes the boundaries, but not in terms of technicality and complexity, rather, through an organic approach to soloing; he delves into self-improvement via the use of internal communication and examination… meditative shit, man.

Lots of musicians have dropped their instruments for years or decades due to careers outside music, family matters etc only to pick them up again when time permits. In my
60's I know lots of guys that are playing again after a hiatus of sorts. I quit playing drums
for 29 years and didn't own any during that time. I'm now playing again in several small jazz
combos for audiences. I never expected this....anything can happen...play when you can.
Now that I have the time I practice a lot, as much as I can. I did stay physically fit during those off years and that has been a huge factor in my being able to play again.