Critique my playing please

Liebe zeit

Silver Member
I've been drumming again for about 15 months. I've put a lot of hours in. If someone want to know what I'm like this is the best recordings I can send them. How's my drumming? Tell me what you think.

http://soundcloud.com/thee-red-room/sets/set-title/

I realise it's a limited set genre-wise. I'm more of a groove-type drummer. I'm trying to find another band aside from the one you here in these recordings and aiming for blues/funk/alt-rock type stuff

The grooves for both songs were very similar. Try mixing it up a bit with your bass drum, ghost notes and open hi-hat. Also, don't be afraid of your ride and bell.

I thought your sense of timing was good, but I sometimes felt the timing was off just by a hair. You did a nice job of playing a groove through the whole song (you'd be surprised at how many drummers can't do that) so very good control in that regard.

If you want to be a groove drummer you need to make sure you're learning as many grooves as possible. Since both grooves seemed so similar, I don't know what range of grooves you have. I would start HERE and go to the groove styles section and learn every groove there as a starter.

Overall, a great job! Keep up a the good work!

EDIT: Wow. I was very general.