Extremely beginner drumming tips

Chickencowboy

I am really REALLY new to drumming and am not very good at all.
Everywhere i go I find unhelpful resources and tricks that are supposed to get you better at drumming but I can barely get through the intro to a song. So basically I was wondering what you guys did as extreme beginners to get better. Is the only hope to get a drumming teacher or is there some way I have not tried that will get me out of this beginner rut.

Drumming is all about coordination and timing. There is no magic pill you can take to make it easier. The only thing you can do is practice, but a teacher will guide you and help shorten the time it takes to reach a certain level of coordination and timing that will allow you to play with confidence.

You've got to learn to walk before you can run...there are no "tricks" to "get better fast". It was a long time ago but I'm pretty sure I played exercises out of Syncopation on a practice pad for 4 or 5 months before I even sat at a kit.

Don't sweat over intro's to songs, fills, etc. Just practice some basic beats to simple songs to get feel for timing and rhythm. If you can tap your foot in time to the bass drum and slap your knees in time with the beat of the snare and hats, you're on your way.

With the right teacher you will progress more in the first 3 months than you will trying to do it alone for a couple of years.
Practice.

I started because out of my set of mates I couldn't play a guitar, bass or sing so I took up the drums. We worked our way through simple Rock songs together (it may have sounded awful, but we enjoyed it) & in the house I played along to tapes of songs I liked (it may have sounded awful, but I enjoyed it) and the rest is history.
So just get stuck in. Don't worry about intros to songs etc yet, thinking about it they can actually be the most awkward bit, just play along to steady beats and take things from ther.