Comparing ones abilities with others

drummingman

Gold Member
Being a musician can be a competitive thing. What I mean is that people are always comparing musicians to each other. I know that as a drummer it can be hard for me to not look at guys that are faster then me, or more technical then me without starting to feel like I suck in comparison. Don't get me wrong, I do think that Im a good drummer. And I feel that seeing people that blows me away is a good motivator for me to practice more. But at the same time I know that to get into the who"s better game is not healthy or productive. So I go out of my way to avoid that.

But I admit, when I see a 20 year old guy who is 10 times faster then me and can seem to play circles around me thats a bit discouraging lol! But what I know is true is that all that matters when it comes to my playing abilities is if Im better today, in comparison to myself, then I was yesterday. It is true that we all truly have something unique to offer!

I get by on a bit of denial.

We all speak differently, and our drumming is like a voice. Eddie Bayers once said "Your fingerprint is what makes you unique".

I remember hearing a quote somewhere, someone said of Jimmy Vaughn "Jimmy FORGOT more stuff than Stevie Ray ever played..." And I always felt like I could identify with that on some level.

Faster is not always better.

If you don't believe me, ask your girlfriend.

You're welcome.

Here is my perspective on this subject.

I played a lot of drums when I was young. Two years ago I began playing again after 40 years of not playing. So having come back from such a long absence I was trying to figure out where I fit into the pecking order of current drummers. Well, at least among local drummers.