Help with my technique and mental pulse

oob360

I'm looking for some criticism on my technique and form. I'm a self taught drummer with a classical violin playing background. I never had a formal teacher, and so I'm worried that I might have some bad habits in my playing.

Also, I often lose the mental beat in my head that goes along with the song while I play, so I get off from the song often. Any drills or exercises I can do to improve this?

I know the cover is not perfect, I just recorded it to highlight these issues I'm having for critique from other drummers more experienced that me :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N874uFD2BQU

There is tremendous value in using a metronome for practicing and I'll bet you used one in your violin wrangling days. Over time, the pulse is internalized and you'll have a better innate feel for the rhythm which in turn helps you keep it.

We had some great exercises at a music camp last week. Markus Reuter, a touch guitarist, led us every morning in a series of exercises focused on developing the internal pulse while allowing us to lay and maintain subdivisions on top of the primary rhythm. An example is foot motions in repeating patterns of 5 while counting aloud in patterns of 4 while clapping in patterns of 3. Sounds tough and was but amazingly enough, this allowed the base pulse to be internalized and maintained without having to concentrate on doing so.

I'm certain others here have additional recommendatons. Good luck!

Play with a click, metronome, or drum machine and try16th's and other fills around the kit while you keep your kick going playing quarters on beat. This is what really got my sense of time straightened out.