1980's Drum Sounds/ Kits

cbpunk16

Alright, I'm a huge fan of the band Dokken, and their three big albums from the 1980's (Tooth and Nail- 1984, Under Lock and Key- 1985, and Back For The Attack- 1987), and I want to save up and eventually purchase a vintage 80's drum set just to have as a home studio set or something, but until I have the money, I was curious as to how one would go about tuning their drums to get an 80s-ish kind of sound, especially the snare...

My father has a wooden 10-lug (6.5 x 14) Tama Superstar snare that I can use for now, but how would I tune it to get a deep sound similar to Dokken (and yes I understand that there were many effects applied in studio, and different heads affect the sound), and also how do you tune the toms and bass drum (Currently have a Yamaha Rydeen). I've been playing for about three years now, so I can't tune great yet... anyways, I'm all for experimenting, but I'm not sure where to start so I was hoping I could get some tips for tuning for that style from anyone here that played back then...

One more thing, can anyone recommend an 80's drum set I should look into? I'm a Tama and Yamaha fan...

Thanks in advance.

There's alot of vintage stuff on eBay right now. Search for "vintage Tama" or "vintage Yamaha drums" and all kinds of sets will come up. As for tuning, you'll have to experiment with that. Bass drums are the usual blanket in the drum sound and processed, and the snare and toms are the usual sorta' live -sounding and heavily processed. It isn't that '80s drums sound different as much as it sounds dated.

Don't forget the power toms.....take your new fangled hyperdrives and shove 'em where the sun don't shine. If the tom is wider than it is deep, it ain't from the 80's.

Some spandex and big hair are recommended to complete the look. :)