Tom tuning help?! Making 'Bow' sound. Videos inside.

finnman11

So, i have a bit of jamming experience but I wouldn't consider myself 'good.' I recently picked up drumming again and I'm in the process of tuning my toms. I have simple 5pc drum set, 2 mounted, 1 floor, 1 bass. I'm looking for a lower tone like in A Perfect Circle's 1st album. I think I have the mounted tops where i'd like them, but in tuning the floor tom, it gives a 'booww' sound to it. I took a few short videos pasted in below that show what it's doing.

This is my first time tuning toms. How did I do? What should I do to have a more optimal sound for Heavy rock? The resonant head is just a hint higher than the batter head on all 3.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kVC0LdzTnqo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FKCvHWsgr8U

Thanks for your time and help!

Chris

The floor tom is not tuned equally at the tuning screws. Tap about an inch or so out from the hoop by each lug and get them sounding the same. would also help to get rid of the Taye heads as soon as you can afford to.

I tuned all of the heads by tapping about an inch away from the screw and making sure they were the same high/low note, and then comparing the sound of one side of the head one inch from the rim to the other side of the drum, same location. They are all the same note right now.

I just tuned both sides of the floor tom to be the same pitch/note and its still doing it? Is there an area of frequency I should be avoiding?

It sounds like the tuning is interacting with the fundamental pitch of the drum shell. Try playing with different head pitches. Also, it might help to bring the resonate head up higher than the batter head.

I think your high tom sounds the best, use that as a reference.

Overall, if you're just learning and this is your first time tuning, I'm impressed. It took me A LOT longer to learn (and I'm still learning in many ways).

Are you aware of the Drum Tuning Bible?