Free Gigs

ericgtr

From CL this morning...
Seeking smaller acts to play for complimentary drinks and tips in a small, hip venue in Old Town. Ideal setting for acoustic performers or small amplified sounds systems. Venue holds an audience of up to 50 people. Now booking through April.

Please respond with a link to your music and we will respond with booking info.

Now I know it's been a while since I was a working musician but is this what it's come to?

So, he wants to SCEDULE people to play for free!?

Sounds like he needs to learn the phrase "open mic night".

Maybe no one wants to play there because the owner doesn't pay much to begin with and no he is forced to go to CL.

There are PLENTY of free gigs in Portland! Come on by sometime!

...yes, as long as there are hobbyists who simply want to play in front of an "audience", there will always be free gigs. I mean, heck...they get complimentary drinks and.....*ahem*......"tips". :D

Apparently no one plays for fun anymore.
I sometimes play little jazz/folk gigs for fun down pubs. It's fun if its with some cool people.
Practice is practice.
Time is also money but I have enough of both so its OK.

ha

in bighton/UK its strange to get paid for a gig, most venues dont even offer a free drink

no ones paying and people are still playing so why bother wasting their money ??

****s me off though, 90% of the time i dont even get a hand with my kit in

I sometimes play little jazz/folk gigs for fun down pubs. It's fun if its with some cool people.
Practice is practice.
Time is also money but I have enough of both so its OK.
I think most play for fun, or we wouldn't be doing it to begin with. If it's billed as an open jam or something like that then fine but this isn't the same thing IMO.

I think most play for fun, or we wouldn't be doing it to begin with. If it's billed as an open jam or something like that then fine but this isn't the same thing IMO.