Hello! Need help with studio gear decisions

tdwctdwc

Hello all,

I've been a lurker here for some time now.

A little about myself:

I'm a pianist/keyboardist/songwriter but always been a drummer at heart (I do play drums as well).

My fascination for rhythm has always been with me since i was a kid. My dad got me a keyboard when i was 8 and i used to use the drum patches in the keyboard so i can finger drum my passion away lol. Over the years, i managed to self train myself to finger drum (live, no overdubbing, just like a live drummer would play) on all the keyboard workstations that i bought/used over the years. I now record my drum tracks on all my released songs using the Korg Kronos built in drum kit. I basically finger-drum the drum track live in one take and i'm done.

Even all the bands that i formed over the years revolved around the best drummer i could find first, then the rest of the members were recruited around the drummer and myself.

All my favorite bands were "favorites" because of their drummers. Examples: Chick corea electric band (Dave Weckl), Porcupine tree (Gavin Harrison), Dream theater (Mike Portnoy) and many more to list !

Anyway, I just bought a custom made fusion-size maple kit and spent some good money on Sabian cymbals (22 HHX legacy ride, aax 14 stage hats, aax 16 crash), some Remo ambassadors on all the kit and a Powerstroke pro on the kick, hole in the kick reso head etc...

My question is:

Should i really spend the money on a Scarlett 18i20 and a shure drum mics kit so i can record my drum kit into my songs ? or should i just buy the smaller scarlett 6i6 and stick with finger drumming my drum tracks on the Korg Kronos into my songs ? I do have a fairly good experience in mixing a kit and multitracking in general and i use Ableton live as my main DAW along with a large collection of VST effects etc.