Band doesn't understand timing (wat do)

The Tank

So, guys. I just joined a band a few weeks ago. Happens to be full of 15 year olds that are beginners. The guys wanted me to join so bad because they needed a drummer so desperately and even though I told him I wasn't that good a hundred times he wanted me to be a part anyway.

Later on I figured out why.

I may be kind of a beginner, but as a drummer I understand normal time intervals. These people clearly don't. I was rehearsing with them a few times and they were getting frustrated with me because I never knew when to transition, and it was impossible to tell. After listening to their recordings a few times I realized that the drums were completely out of time. They don't know what bars or anything are at all and they were all transitioning whenever they felt like it, which could be like randomly in the middle of bar 3 or bar 2 depending on how fast the guitar goes.

Now correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't the drummer supposed to dictate where everything is in the song and not anyone else? And by adding in a fill I'm directing the band into a different verse?

I need confirmation. If I'm wrong, just come out and tell me I suck. I won't mind, seriously.

NO.
Normally the drums do not "tell" the other musicians when to transition.
The other musicians need to know on their own when to transition. And everyone needs to transition together. A drum fill usually starts after the transition starts.

You could as a group figure out a drum signal to let them know when to transition. But then you the drummer would be directing the song. That would be an abnormal situation, kind of a different approach.

Have the whole band play together with some standard famous song that has been recorded by another band. See how they do.
Sounds like these guys need lots of help.

They need to find one good guitar player somewhere?