Zildjian New Beats

vtran711

I recently picked up a used kit and added used pair of Zildjian 14" New Beats. Prior to getting these cymbals I decided to pick up a new pair of 14" Meinl Custom Classic Darks. I know many highly recommend new beats and I know they are generally of higher quality but I seem to like the Meinl Darks better. For some reason the Meinls seem easier to control and I'm able to get the sounds I want much easier. The New Beats sound almost too bright and tinny. Being a beginner I wonder if this is just my untrained ear and later down the road I'll wish I kept the New Beats. I need to return one of them and am leaning towards keeping the Meinls. I understand I should go with what my ear likes but I can't help to think maybe I'm missing something. I don't play anything heavy. Anyone else think New Beats are too bright?

Push pull stroke

Platinum Member
I recently picked up a used kit and added used pair of Zildjian 14" New Beats. Prior to getting these cymbals I decided to pick up a new pair of 14" Meinl Custom Classic Darks. I know many highly recommend new beats and I know they are generally of higher quality but I seem to like the Meinl Darks better. For some reason the Meinls seem easier to control and I'm able to get the sounds I want much easier. The New Beats sound almost too bright and tinny. Being a beginner I wonder if this is just my untrained ear and later down the road I'll wish I kept the New Beats. I need to return one of them and am leaning towards keeping the Meinls. I understand I should go with what my ear likes but I can't help to think maybe I'm missing something. I don't play anything heavy. Anyone else think New Beats are too bright?
New beats from 60 years ago are very different, much darker and quieter, than more recent New Beats. I hear Steve Gadd is using the same set he’s had since the 60s. And I bet they’re nice and dark and controllable.

harryconway

Platinum Member