Your Favorite Snare Wires?

sage32

What are your favorite snare wires and why?

I just purchased a used Yamaha Musashi Oak 13x6.5 and I'm looking to get a nice set of wires since the ones that it came with are damaged.

I only have experience with stock wires on a Tama Swingstar, Starclassic, and Yamaha Stage Custom. For premium snare wires the only names I've heard of are Puresound and Fat Cat, but I have no experience with either of these.

Any advice or recommendations you guys have to give would be greatly appreciated!

porter

Platinum Member
I've always had good luck with the standard Puresound Custom Pros. There's 20 or 24 strand options in steel or brass, but I honestly have never heard a drastic (or, arguably, even noticeable) difference, having used several of the different models on different snares. They sound great and very versatile though. The best part is that they come with straps that enable you to take the wires off without taking the straps off, so you can change your bottom head or switch to a different set of wires without messing with the straps. Puresound does make several other sets with more noticeable differences.

If you're looking for a giant and consistent video comparison of 99% of snare wires available today, AJ Donahue has got you covered.

Mcdonap

While I haven't tried too many brands, I like the Canopus vintage wires - both kinds, but especially the dry ones.

dzarren

I have a 12" musashi snare and i put on puresound 16 strand steel wires on it. It's definitely my favorite snare right now. I went with the 16 strands because the less strands you have, the more of the drum you hear. Listen to how gavin harrisons drum sounds, lots of pop, tons of body.

Then find someone on youtube playing some 42 strand wires on a drum, and you realize how little of the drum you actually hear, and all you hear is the slapping of the snares.