X-Hat setup

Silver’n’Smac

Hi there - I consider myself somewhere between a beginner and intermediate in terms of skill set. My kit is a 6 piece Tama Silverstar birch kit with mostly AAX cymbals and an old pair of Iron Cobra double bass pedals (see attached pics for setup).

I’m really new to double bass playing and would like to know what I need to do for an X-hat setup. I just purchased a Tama MXA73N closed hi hat adjustment but I don’t know what else I need. Do I have to have both the top and bottom hi hats for this setup or can it be achieved with a single fixed top hi hat only (such as a 13” Sabian AAX X-Celerator cymbal? So in a nutshell, I guess I have 3 questions:

1. With the Tama attachment that I already have, do I need a dedicated cymbal stand or will that attachment allow me to clamp directly onto my ride or crash cymbal stand? As you can see in the pics, I’m super limited in available space.

2. Do I have to have both a top and bottom hi hat?

3. I can afford a single AAX X-Celerator top hat right now but not both the top and bottom. So if I do indeed need both, I’d like some recommendations on another brand or model that would sound good with the rest of my kit without breaking the bank. I’m not fixed on Sabian but that’s my go-to for cymbals.

Sorry for the long post (my first) and thanks in advance!!! (I’m sure this topic has been discussed elsewhere so my apology for a repeat topic!)

Attachments

iCe

Well... yes... if you want an auxiliary hi-hat you need a bottom and top cymbal. Otherwise you can just mount one cymbal one a regular cymbals stand. A x-hat is designed to accommodate the bottom and top cymbal. You can adjust how tight or open you want your x-hat to be. Just a top cymbal would sound very weird. Just tap your regular hi-hat top cymbal and image having that sound on your x-hat with only a top cymbal (and higher pitched if you want a 13" hi-hat on the x-hat).