Wrapping a set of Saturns?

retoxtony

I'm wondering if anyone here has wrapped a set of Mapex Saturns. I'd like to change up the appearance of mine, but i've never done a wrap on a kit before and i have no idea if its worth it, or if there's anything in particular on a Saturn kit i need to know before doing it?

Any help would be great.

PorkPieGuy

Platinum Member
Are they already wrapped or lacquer?

If they are wrapped, you will probably have to remove it if you want a Delmar-type wrap. If you want to do a BumWrap, you can wrap right over them.

If they are lacquer, you can wrap right over that.

Hollywood Jim

Platinum Member

If they are wrapped, you will probably have to remove it if you want a Delmar-type wrap. If you want to do a BumWrap, you can wrap right over them.

Don't you have to be careful with wrapping drums to make sure that the drum heads will fit properly (come on and off easily) when wrapping a drum?
Is BumWrap a very thin wrap?

PorkPieGuy

Platinum Member
Don't you have to be careful with wrapping drums to make sure that the drum heads will fit properly (come on and off easily) when wrapping a drum?
Is BumWrap a very thin wrap?

Yes, and yes.

You give Bumwrap the dimensions of your drum(s) and they will cut the wrap(s) to fit the edge. Here's a quote from their website:

We always cut wraps back 1/4 inch on each side to prevent interference with bearing edges. We also cut back 1/8 inch on wood bass hoop inlays. Metal hoop inlay sizes are exact.

Yes, Bumwrap is thin, but it's surprisingly durable. I really like mine, and I wouldn't hesitate to use them again. I wrapped a Tama Rockstar metal snare. Once I got it wrapped, I really had to feel for the little "divets" in the shell. (see pics)

B2B3A3E6-BDAC-413B-9DCA-5B943B387562_zps4rdg9gui.jpg

26F64ED5-E62C-4D79-BDE3-BF9F4FF7210A_zpsavyrhp7l.jpg

30704997-B6B6-4B35-B3DA-FAA3308D503A_zpspe4ldkiv.jpg

PorkPieGuy

Platinum Member