Which LM402?

Neilage

There appears to be an endless number of threads and comments regarding the LM402, however I was not able to find the answers I am looking for.

I am finally able to pull the trigger on a used Supra.
I am looking for a 14 x 6.5 WITH the tone control. I would prefer a Black Beauty, but I don't believe they made BB's with tone control.
I am not up to the challenge of drilling and installing it myself.

Also, I am not sure how to determine if the pre-owned Supras online are Ludalloy or COB. Is there an easy way to find out?
I find deciphering information from the serial #'s to be overwhelming, and I have not found a website with a comprehensive overview of LM402 specs by serial # or year.

Here are links to a few I am considering. (Trusting none of my fellow forum members will swoop in first).

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

trickg

Silver Member
Yes.

Get the least expensive one - unless I'm mistaken (and I could be - I'm not an expert on the timeline of Ludwig drums) they should all be essentially the same. Even an older one with pitted chrome is going to sound great. Don't believe the hype that the older ones sound better. They don't. Aluminum is fairly inert, so time won't have changed it like it would for a wood drum.

If the drum is an LM402, I'm pretty sure it's going to be Aluminum, although IMO you'd be getting a better drum if it was COB.

jdavis

Older Supras were COB, if I'm not mistaken. If that's the case, they probably changed over sometime in the 60's. Maybe someone can chime in with the details... Getting my popcorn ready! (y)

blinky

Inside of my old 402 there was a blue sticker with the word "Ludalloy" on it, if I remember it right.

Juniper

Gold Member
Not meaning to throw a spanner in the works but my 14x6.5 Black Beauty has an internal tone control.

The LM402 is a great drum also though.

KamaK

Platinum Member