Where do I start?

Sonic Atrocity

I have a kit. A crappy little thing, but it does the trick. I have a double-kick, single bass drum, a floor tom, two toms sitting on the bass drum (mind my lacking terminology), high-hat, ride and splash (or crash?) symbol. I have some experience playing drums but nothing really legitimate.

Where should I start? Anything I should read? What kind of practice regimen should I start? I am into metal, especially black metal. I definitely want to learn how to blast, but I understand that drumming is about way more than that, and I am very eager to learn.

One problem: I am starting guitar again, and when I play my left hand (my non-picking hand) goes numb. I am looking to fix this and have created a thread on another forum asking how I can deal with it. I am worried that drumming will irritate it. Any ideas on how to prevent further damage, heal my wrist and take care of it?

Thanks for taking the time to view my thread!

Please, suggest any reading. I will take the time to read if it means I will learn something about drumming. :)

Pocket-full-of-gold

Platinum Member
Two approaches. You've got everything you need for both of them.

First one: Get on your kit and start playing. Copy what you hear and try to figure it out as you go along.

Second one: Start at the begining and get some lessons from a reputable teacher. (Yeah, I know it's unthinkable in the modern age....but the beginning is so often the very best place to start).

Both approaches can be effective, depending on many factors.....but the second is a sure fire way to learn properly and receive meaningful feedback and guidance on your progression from the outset.

ageadm

You might also consider this topic for a good start
http://drummerworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=976