What would you do if?....

RaveDrummer

So lil bit of a back story here, ive been playing solid for about 4 and 1/2 years now and im the back up drummer, learning rythm guitarist for our church band, and tonight got me thinking...In practice our drummer was just laying down his beats through the song, then I noticed that the snare cut out of the beat, and soon he noticed too lol, the snare head had popped and ripped clean open... luckily we had a back up snare from a donated kit for the youth and the day was saved...

My thoughts were what exactly would you do if caught live with that situation>? lol

Numberless

Platinum Member
If it's a local gig then a good tip is to bring a back up snare. If you're sharing the billing, the other bands could help out. If there are no other bands and no replacements, then the gig would be over, at lest for me, you could try to save a song by improvising with the rims but I wouldn't continue a full set like that.

The best thing to do is to try and prevent this situation, mostly by using common sense, if the head is old and worn down, change it a couple days before the show. Don't bash it, it'll only go so loud.

A

audiotech

If you are performing, either in front of an audience or during a recording session, always have a back-up piece of equipment close at hand. In this scenario, a another fully tuned snare ready to go at your side. When I gig or take my kits into a recording environment, I usually have at least two or three snare drums, an extra pedal, extra hi hat stand and a couple of extra cymbal stands. Playing in a church band you'll probably not have to be redundant with every piece, but a snare drum is your bread and butter. Sometimes you just can't stop to replace and tune a head.

Dennis

Pocket-full-of-gold

Platinum Member