What to look out for when using a perspex screen?

Davo-London

Gold Member
Wise folk at the church have decided (without consulting me) that we need a perspex screen for the drummer and that the drum will be fully mic'd.

I don't want to debate the decision (which has been done), but I have no experience of using a screen and I would like to know if there are any tips about using them.

Cheers
Davo

Andy

Administrator
Staff member
No direct experience myself, but if they haven't bought the mic's yet, I'd caution against using hypercardoid mic's as they tend to pick up a lot of signal from the back of the bulb.

Our forum member Scott (Yesdog) uses this setup regularly, so I'm hoping he'll chime in. If not Davo, you may wish to PM him.

Good luck.

joshvibert

I play behind one at least 2 hrs a week (usually more). Although, mine's more of an enclosed room with a sheild in the front. They're really not as bad as everyone makes them out to be. The key is having everything mic'd. Also, make them get you a good in-ear monitor mix with some Shure E2C (or similar) isolation buds to protect your hearing. At first, it's a little weird listening to your drum sound through earbuds, but you'll get used to it. I actually really like it now, because I can play more the way I want to without being too worried about accidentally cracking a rim-shot too hard on the snare and getting a dirty look from a singer.

Good Luck!

inneedofgrace

Platinum Member