What practice software do you use?

KJIB

I'm a beginner and have been using a combination of books, lessons and Melodics software.

Melodics is fun but I feel like it falls a bit short from some aspects. I'd prefer if it gave a choice to see a proper musical score rather than just the squares on lines. It would be nice if you could put your own stuff in but I've not found an editor etc. for it. It does have a "practice" mode but you have to find an existing track with all the bits of kit you want to practice with and then, well it's not really meant for what I'd like to do which is practice the exercises my teacher has written out that I want to do with a click but also have the benefit of seeing where I'm drifting on the timing, being able to add what I'm meant to play so I can compare it on the screen and to track progress with that etc.

I know Roland (use to?) do some practice software but recent reviews seem to suggest this is fairly dated, has limited songs and probably also doesn't do some of the things that Melodics doesn't do etc.

What do you use, got any tips on how you made it work for you and, if it's got something that doesn't quite work for you, how does it fall short?