What else to play? Advice please.

J4X

Hello,
Im nearly 17years old and i was wondering now that ive been playing the drums for 6 years, if i should maybe start properly learning another instrument.

After leaving school and going to college i have alot of free time.
I did GCSE Music at school, got an A*.

The only other things on other instruments i know are the basics on keyboard and bass guitar.

I own a keyboard, bass guitar and unstrung acoustic guitar (and drums obviously).

Should I learn another instrument other than drums, or just focus on drumming?

Have you learnt any instrument other than drums in your life?

Advice/experience please.

Thanks. :)

Bonz0

I play several other instruments besides drums and sometimes when i play drums i get some sort of creative blocking and i find that playing bass or piano i get inspired for drumming (and viceversa). You can say that playing other instruments enhance your playing in each one of them cause you get a different perspective. I highly recommend playing some other instrument besides ur main one! and dont be afraid with the feeling that u wont grow as a drummer while wasting time playing another instrument cause not only u do grow as a drummer but more important u grow as a musician.

diegobxr

Silver Member
Amazing how most drummers who learn other instruments always tend to go to piano and bass!!!

Well, it's understandable of course. Piano is a percussion instrument and drums and bass go together like bread and butter, we are the rhythm section.

I started learning bass some months ago and I like it. I'd love to play the piano too, but I don't have the time nor the talent to learn it.

Tough question to answer man, learn whatever instrument you like most, and learn it properly, learn music theory and reading!!

Cheers!

A

audiotech