What do you use for snare straps?

topgun2021

Gold Member
I have been using Christmas bow felt type things instead of the plastic straps that cam with my snare. The downside is after a while, it stretches out and becomes so smooth, I can not clamp it down.

What do you use?

Fuzrock

Silver Member
Grosgrain ribbon from your local arts and craft store works great. It's cheap, extremely durable and you get to choose from a variety of colors and designs to suit your own personnel taste. I've been using grosgrain ribbon for about four years now without issue.

String is my preference such as is supplied with every set of Puresound snare wires. I prefer string to tape because it is easier to get even tension on the snares.

KarlCrafton

Platinum Member
For the last couple years I have used the Blue PureSound wire.
I just got a couple sets of Custom 20 wires with the new strap and clip design. I really like it.
I'm going to check out some of that Ribbon.

BradGunnerSGT

Silver Member
For the last couple years I have used the Blue PureSound wire.
I just got a couple sets of Custom 20 wires with the new strap and clip design. I really like it.
I'm going to check out some of that Ribbon.
I love that strap and cotter pin design on the PureSound wires. Really the best and it allows for quick changes if you need to replace the wires.

thunderstruck

Silver Member
Grosgrain ribbon from your local arts and craft store works great. It's cheap, extremely durable and you get to choose from a variety of colors and designs to suit your own personnel taste. I've been using grosgrain ribbon for about four years now without issue.
Second that notion. I switched to grosgrain ribbon over the summer.

uniin

Gold Member
i really liked using the ribbon like/felt type strips that came with my starclassic drum. i'm trying out those "wire" type ones with a new set of snare wires i got. they're definitely a bit more harder to setup (snare wires can be pulled too much to one side for example.)