What are the jazz standards?

AndyMC

Hi all, I've been fooling around with jazz since I started playing, but more recently I've decided to actually get a stable of songs learned up. I was wondering what are the jazz songs I should know if I wanted to play out. A list of 30 or so would be great and heads up on any cliches like free bird would be appreciated.

Numberless

Platinum Member
There's like a billion, I would recommend checking out some key artists, guys like Thelonious Monk, Duke Ellington, Louie Armstrong, Bill Evans, Miles Davis (stick to his 50s and 60s stuff for now), John Coltrane and Charlie Parker, get some albums with these cats playing or leading, fumble around with them and eventually you'll start recognizing some of the tunes and more importantly you'll find tunes that appeal to you.

Anyways some of my favorites right now are Greensleeves, Someday My Prince Will Come, Question and Answer, Solar, Autumn Leaves, All The Things You Are, Confirmation, St. Thomas, Rhythm a ning, Fly Me To The Moon and Afro-Blue.

EDIT- Also, Wayne Shorter xD

Last edited:

groove1

Silver Member
The jazz standards tend to be popular music tunes written in the 20's through 50's in particular (although there are more current jazz standards to be sure) that had chord
changes that improvisors like to play over. There are several thousand that have been popular amongst jazz musicians over time. The jazz players I play with tend to have several hundred of these at their fingertips. Locally for jams, there may be 50 or so tunes that are often called. While there is no set rule on what you should do as a drummer (so long as it fits and
is tasteful), you should learn how the tunes have been played (and recorded) in the past. There are some tunes that have "heads" that are played often played latin and swing on the