What are considered "cheap" cymbals?

Hi all, I am doing research on acoustic drum gear as I am still learning on an electric kit. From my research, I have gathered that new players are advised to stay away from cheap cymbals. But what exactly is considered "cheap cymbals"? Is there a certain price range to start with? Are cymbal packs a bad idea?

Thanks for any advice or info you contribute! :)

Old Dog new Cans

"Usually", cymbals made with B8 bronze (92% copper, 8% tin)--tend to be considered cheaper. B20 bronze (80 percent copper, 20 percent tin) are more expensive, tend to sound better, are more sought after.

Packs aren't bad. Many will prefer hearing cymbals individually. And there are SO MANY used great cymbals out there. You can usually find what you need/want for used/cheaper.

"Usually", cymbals made with B8 bronze (92% copper, 8% tin)--tend to be considered cheaper. B20 bronze (80 percent copper, 20 percent tin) are more expensive, tend to sound better, are more sought after.

Packs aren't bad. Many will prefer hearing cymbals individually. And there are SO MANY used great cymbals out there. You can usually find what you need/want for used/cheaper.
Ok, thanks! Do most players stick with the same brand or do players generally mix and match?

yammyfan

There are too many cymbals to list but in general be wary of terms like "budget" "value" "starter" "budding" "beginner" "entry" etc. when reading the vendor or manufacturer's description of the product.

Manufacturers will often try to convince you that their cheap stuff isn't cheap sounding but I've never found that to be true. I've never heard a "budget" cymbal that didn't sound like one. Cymbals are the #1 thing not to skimp on when it comes to outfitting a drum kit.

Here's an example of the kind of marketing to be aware of:

Capture.JPG

Last edited:

MrInsanePolack

Platinum Member