Vistalite concert tom set - a good deal?

Lee-Bro

The ad mentions badges but I couldn't see a single badge in the photos -even though the photos aren't great, I didn't see anything that resembled a badge where I'd expect to see them.

I'm highly skeptical by nature and the statement, "THIS SET HAS THE OPEN BOTTOMS FOR A DEEPER SOUND AND LOUDER VOLUME THIS IS EXTREMELY RARE" is a red flag for me. This is not how I would expect someone who has owned a concert tom kit for 46 years to describe it.

My instinct is that this is a clone kit w/ Ludwig hardware. Only an in-person inspection could tell you one way or another.

Mustion

The ad mentions badges but I couldn't see a single badge in the photos -even though the photos aren't great, I didn't see anything that resembled a badge where I'd expect to see them.
Good point. That stood out to me too. I'm no expert but I would expect to at least see a badge on the kick, right between the tom mount and the reso hoop. This same kit is also listed on ebay where one can zoom in on the pics better, and I see no badges at all. It does look like the "extra holes" are for the original tone controls. Even so, I'm inclined to think it's legit, but I just don't get it; why mention badges but not show a single one?

BertTheDrummer

Gold Member
I agree, not sure that they are really Ludwigs, just a ludwig tom mount. Though none of the drums have any badges either.

Hard to tell, the pictures are bad.... one is blurry and the other even has a finger over the lens and they didn't retake it.

Mustion

I'm a bit skeptical on the "counterfeit" angle; why would anybody go through the trouble?

It's just so strange how both listings are very adamant about the drums having badges... then not following through at all in the photos! How odd.

Pity, even though I don't need another kit, a set of Vistas in these sizes with concert toms is right up my alley.

ineedaclutch

Platinum Member