Used Zildjian ZBT - Worth it?

Skoon21

I'm a beginner, just starting to learn and I'm looking to replace the 14" high hats and 18" crash/ride that came with my Pearl Roadshow. Without even knowing much, the cymbals sound terrible. I found a used set of ZBT's (14" hi hats 16" & 18" crash and 22" ride) for $100. They look to be in pretty good shape online and I'm wondering if they are in fact in good condition, would this be a good buy? I know ZBT's are low end but will they be some kind of upgrade from my pearl cymbals? The stock cymbals almost deter me from practicing and I'm looking for something that isn't cringe worthy that won't break the bank. Is it worth waiting and finding something else used or will this hold me over until I get better? Thanks in advance!

KamaK

Platinum Member
ZBT's are Zildjian's entry/economy line. If I have to say something positive about them, it is that they make the sound they are supposed to make. This makes them useful for beginners, rehearsal areas, and environments that you wouldn't bring your fine cymbals.

<$100 is an expected price for a used set with no problems (cracks, bends, bootprints).
~$50 if it's a beater set.

MntnMan62

My suggestion is go to a music store that has cymbals you can listen to. Hit the ZBT's and see if you like them. If you do, then buy the used ones you found. If not, keep searching for something you tried at the store that you do like.

Fritz Frigursson

ZBTs won't sound better than your pearl cymbals. Buy something more expensive USED is my .02$.

Skoon21

Some good advice... Any suggestions on what would be a step above ZBT's on a budget? I'd prefer to find a set instead of piecing it out if I can.

Fritz Frigursson

Some good advice... Any suggestions on what would be a step above ZBT's on a budget? I'd prefer to find a set instead of piecing it out if I can.