Upgrading a Ludwig Breakbeats

Solowbeats

Hi all! I'm new here and this is my first post in this forum. I'm not a drummer, I'm a HipHop/soul producer and a bass player. The only experience I have playing drums is playing a little on my electronic Roland kit. I'm planning to purchase an acoustic kit. I think it's way more dynamic than my Roland E kit, and I need it for future projects. I needed something cheap, small and sounding exactly like what I heared in the Ludwig Breakbeats demo video with Questlove playing on it. I need a kit that sound tight and snappy for a Roots/neo soul.hip hop feel.

Now, I've watched countless review vids and read lots of forum topics on this kit, so I know what people think of it and how it's sounds. I've read it had plastic washers on all tuners and a plastic hoop on the bass drum ( is hoop the right word for it?, maybe rim?)

My question is,

How easy is it to upgrade this kit? Can I buy a good quality wooden rim for the bass drum and better washers? Is this even possible? Are there people that have changed things on this kit, and made it better?

Maybe it's not even necessary... I don't know.

I know people love it's sound for such a small kit, but is it build to last?

Thanks!

I upgraded mine to wood hoops for the bass drum, so that's not hard. I paid $35 a hoop and painted them black myself.

Not sure why you'd need better washers though, the plastic ones work just fine. The one thing I did have to upgrade is the bass drum pedal mounting device. The one that came with the kit is just not up to snuff for what I do and how I travel, so I purchased the one made by Gibralter and that one works great. I also changed all the heads to Remo pinstripes on all the batters, and put good ambassadors for the resos. The snare drum got a coated Emperor and a standard snare-side head, and I even replaced the wire snares on the bottom. The drums feel better now. They are my ultimate rehearsal/very small gig kit!