tuning: what does this mean ???

mxo721

2 weeks ago, I put new heads on my toms ( 12" ) and (14") I have been tuning them 2 times a week ( as needed ) I'm new to drum tuning, and I read everthing I could on here and elsewhere and watched every youtube vid about tuning...what happens is, I detune a little bit, then tune back up, to a pitch that sounds good, but always ( 1 ) lug will be only finger tight, I put a drum dial on it, and it shows being lower, but if If tune that lug back up with the others, it's WAY higher, both by ear and the dial. ? any ideas what's going on here ? thanks

Stroman

Platinum Member
Tuning a drumhead is a bit complex, in that it is hard to get a pure tone from it (there are a lot of natural harmonics in the best-tuned head) and every adjust you make with one tension rod affects the rest of the head to some degree.

I don't use a drum dial, but at a guess I would say that the tension rod directly across the drum from that one is too tight. Maybe several on that side.

Then too, it could be an equipment problem such as a bent hoop, bearing edge or head defect. Make a small mark on the head where you are having problems and then try rotating the head on the drum. If the problem occurs at the same spot, you've got a bad head. If the problem recurs at the original spot, rotate the hoop, etc. This should help you isolate the problem.

Bertram

Silver Member
Really. Tension and pitch is two different things. While high tension usually produces a high pitch, and low tension produces lower pitch.
To get a drumhead sounding all the same at every lug, doesn't mean that htey all have the same tension. That's just what i've experienced.