tuning v resonance

THE_NIK

hi my name is nick and i am new enough to this forum. i got my first pro kit about a month ago(dw collectors 10*8 12*9 16*14 toms) and i am having issues tuning it. i am not experienced at tuning and this is the first kit that i have tried to really listen to rather than just making do.

am i asking to much of the kit to expect the decay and release to be similar in different toms.
i am using stock remo reso's and coated remo emperor's. with a square of moon gel to kill over tones.

i think i might be to finicky. i was happy with the tuning until i noticed the resonance of the mid tom is longer that that of the hi and floor tom... the floor i don't mind as much as i have that fairly loose. i have changed the tuning since to match the resonance a little better but now i think im loosing the tone i want

i will be recording this drums soon so any advice or comments are appreciated i have attached a sound clip recorded on a 57

thank you

Attachments

HenrikEckmann

The duration of the resonance often have to do with the relationship in pitch between the two heads of each drum.
If the pitch difference between the heads are the same on every tom, the resonance will most likely match up.

A

audiotech

The sustain on your high and mid toms sound very close in my opinion. Maybe the heads might not be in tune with themselves. Where you need the work is basically on the floor tom because it really sounds dead. Try working on getting the most resonance and this is were the shells really like to sing. In addition, probably all your drums could use a touch up in the tuning department. If you want the longest sustain, try getting both the batter and resonant heads to approximately the same pitch.

If you like your toms sounding dead, then never mind what I'm saying and just work on the two higher toms.

Dennis

Andy

Administrator
Staff member