Trick pedal- I guess it’s not for me...

Jbravo

Awhile back I bought a used Trick Pro1 V Bigfoot single pedal. They are beautifully made, solid as a rock pedals that exude quality. So I was smitten. It was easy to play fast double stokes, and very smooth.

Eventually, as the glow subsided I realized that it felt like I really had to stomp my foot to keep the volume level with the other drums. I’m not a heavy hitter, I only have broken one stick since I started playing again, and that cracked along the grain way up near the tip, so I think it was more of a stick issue than a player issue.

Anyway I put the cheaper pedal back on that came with my atlas standard hardware pack and bam! everything sounded right again.

Long story short- I listed my Trick on reverb last night, sold it for my asking price this morning, and bought a mint used Ludwig Atlas Pro double pedal for that same amount an hour later.

I guess maybe an old dog shouldn’t try a new trick. Pedal anyway...

But I really liked the leather disc I put on the Trick beater- I may have to do some beater shopping when the new pedals arrive.

Red Menace

Platinum Member
I have heard some people have problems with direct drive pedals and getting the power and volume they want. I have been playing an Axis for years so I don't really think of it but I do notice when I play a chain driven pedal that it feels like I get a little more attack and volume.

Bo had a story about buying one, spending forever to get is set up and it played every bit as well as his $99 Iron Cobra Jr.

Jbravo

I have heard some people have problems with direct drive pedals and getting the power and volume they want. I have been playing an Axis for years so I don't really think of it but I do notice when I play a chain driven pedal that it feels like I get a little more attack and volume.

Bo had a story about buying one, spending forever to get is set up and it played every bit as well as his $99 Iron Cobra Jr.