Total newbie seeking advice

Cypher

Hi all,

Short preamble - I'm 27. Recently bought Guitar Hero World Tour (yeah, I know that it's lame :) ) mostly because of the drums - I always wanted to try playing drums. Got hooked on it and now I'm considering buying a real drumset (unfortunately, because of the fact that I live in a flat, I can only "afford" electronic drums). But as I have zero experience I also decided to buy a proper learning package. So I started looking online and found this "Learn & Master Drums".

What I want to know if anyone has got any experience with it and if yes, then is it really worth 150$ (plus 35$ shipping to UK)? I don't want to spend that much. To be honest, I already started ordering it but when I saw the shipping cost I started thinking about finding something else, cheaper...

Or maybe someone could suggest me something else (read better)? Something that would teach me from the very basics on how to hold the stick, how to move hands, what is a fill, etc. I don't know anything about it :) It shouldn't neccessarily be one whole package, it could consist of different DVDs but the result would be the same.

Speaking about drums, I kind of stopped at Session Pro DD506 (it costs 340£ here in UK). Again - is it worth this money or is there anything better out there? I can't find any good reviews that would review this set from inside out. The same about "Learn & Master Drums" - all reviews look like they all just got copied from their homepage.

Last edited:
Hey,
Welcome to the world of drumming (hopefully). I know little about electronic kits but I'm guessing for now you only need the very basics.