Too Old To Play???

Tony Trout

I know this is a stupid question and I'm not trying at all to pad my post count but....do any of you drummers ever think that there comes a time in a person's life when they're too old to seriously start playing drums?

Also, some of you know that I was born with Cerebral Palsy & Hydrocephalus. I now have developed arthritis in my back & legs. Is playing drums a fairly good exercise for keeping any pain that arises at a minimum? Will drumming affect the arthritis in any way or vice-versa as I grow older (I'm currently 39 and just now seriously being bitten by the drum bug after seeing some friends' Ludwig blue sparkle drum kits they've built as a tribute to their favorite drummer and mine, Ronnie Tutt)??

Jesus, I hope not. (I'm 40 lol). But seriously, I don't think you're ever too old to play drums. Granted I'm no medical expert but I can't think that the impact of hitting stuff can be any good for the joints but that's why we refine our playing as we age to lessen that impact. After a 2 or 3 hour session I'm definitely feeling it in the joints of my fingers, wrists, and elbows but I'll do whatever it takes to alleviate these minor hurdles to keep playing. For example, I've gone to using a lighter stick (2B to 5B) and trying not to hit as hard as I have in the past and that's helped a bit. I've also found that if I pop some Aleve beforehand it lessens the nuisance of joint pain a considerable amount. I just love it too much! Keep going bro!

I don't think one is ever too old for anything, except maybe running for president. Basically, your body will tell you when it is time to stop any activity of any kind. It simply gets too painful or you no longer can do certain movements.

Regarding your arthritis and drumming, I would consult a physician, for expert medical advice, not advice here.

I'm 77 and still gigging about 2 to 3 times a month, not the kind of music I would like but i'm still playing.