To your Surprise

Gruntersdad

Honorary Lifetime CEO
Staff member
Since you have been drumming, what is the one thing you have learned that was the Light Bulb, surprise, that made you say, Oh Wow.

larryace

"Uncle Larry" - Administrator
Staff member
It's common courtesy for the OP to provide an example, you know to start the ball rolling.

So let's have it JG :)

My entry: 12 strands instead of 20 or more.

This qualifies because I was definitely surprised and actually said, "Oh Wow"

I'll be doing a thread on snare wires real soon.

Al Strange

Gold Member
When I started playing I played heel down and relatively quietly. This was fine for playing school band, college gigs, and cabaret. However, the first serious band I played with was a veteran punk band whose guitarist played on 10. I had never experienced anything like it in my life and realised that if I was going to continue down the rock path I had to play with a hell of a lot more power and conviction to get over and drive a real rock band. It’s one thing to play along with records at home at a comfortable volume, but it’s another skill set entirely to drive a rock band. I learned to wear ear plugs after that first rehearsal too!! Protect your ears!!:)(y)

larryace

"Uncle Larry" - Administrator
Staff member
When I started playing I played heel down and relatively quietly. This was fine for playing school band, college gigs, and cabaret. However, the first serious band I played with was a veteran punk band whose guitarist played on 10. I had never experienced anything like it in my life and realised that if I was going to continue down the rock path I had to play with a hell of a lot more power and conviction to get over and drive a real rock band. It’s one thing to play along with records at home at a comfortable volume, but it’s another skill set entirely to drive a rock band. I learned to wear ear plugs after that first rehearsal too!! Protect your ears!!:)(y)