Tips for throne position with 2nd Floor Tom

AxisDrummer

Wasn't really sure how to word the subject title....

I'm very new to using a 2nd floor tom. My old setup was 2 bass drums, with a mounted tom on each, and one floor tom.

I took a several year layoff and found a renewed passion in drumming. I bought a new set back in February (Tama Silverstar Lacquer 6 piece). Going back to single bass, single pedal (back to basics). A pair of mounted toms, and now 2 floor toms both on my right side.

I love using the 2nd floor tom (16") to provide that deep sound that my 14" doesn't give. But I'm having issues with my throne positioning in relation to the bass drum pedal and the 2nd floor tom. If my throne is closer to the bass drum, I get better footwork and control of my bass pedal but feel like I have to twist too far to the right to play the 16" floor tom.

If I set the throne back a bit, the 16" floor tom is more accessible, but my leg is stretched a bit far to play the bass drum with the control and power that I'd like to. Also it feels like I'm stretching to reach the mounted toms (which are mounted as close to me as possible) when my throne is back too far.

I'm sure it's all about finding a healthy medium between the two, but I'll gladly appreciate any tips given to me.

topgun2021

Gold Member
Have you thought about moving the floor tom around? move it to the right and up more in relation to where you sit, or place it on your left.

Derek Roddy

DRUMMERWORLD PRO DRUMMER
That was always my issue with 2 floor toms.
I use the 14 on my left now and, it opened up a new world of stickings getting around to that drum.

D

Toolate

Platinum Member