Three strokes on single pedal

letipix

Hello, I’m quite new to drums, I started playing about 6 months ago.
I’m having some troubles with a few rhythms I was given.
I was wondering if anyone could help me either posting a video or replying.

So I’m having troubles with the part where there are three kicks in a row. If I do that small part separately it’s okay but I don’t know why when I do the entire thing it just doesn’t come out, either I miss one kick or it just sounds awful… it’s like my coordination just doesn’t get there… xD any tips??

Attachments

• IMG_7164.jpeg
    IMG_7164.jpeg
    130.2 KB · Views: 32
Hello, I’m quite new to drums, I started playing about 6 months ago.
I’m having some troubles with a few rhythms I was given.
I was wondering if anyone could help me either posting a video or replying.

So I’m having troubles with the part where there are three kicks in a row. If I do that small part separately it’s okay but I don’t know why when I do the entire thing it just doesn’t come out, either I miss one kick or it just sounds awful… it’s like my coordination just doesn’t get there… xD any tips??

That's a bit much for anyone that's been playing for 6 months, imo...

My general advice is to play it slow. Slow enough to get it. Maybe leave out the snare and just play the 8ths on the hi hat and the bass drum at first. Once you can play all three parts at a slow tempo, then speed it up a little, gradually increasing until you can play it at the speed you want.

"leave the fifth bass drum note "out" (and forget about it."
Also it seems that's in Half-Time ie. slow.
So whats the metronome marking

First off, welcome to the forum and congratz on your new quest. This is a great place. There should be many here that will offer their input and guidance.