Thinking of joining the local musico union

rogue_drummer

Gold Member
I need some advice here. I'm getting totally fed up with playing with rank amateurs who can contribute nothing toward my understanding of music, enjoyment of playing music, or who have hidden agendas, or enormous egos that don't match their level of playing. I must be running into bad luck here or I'm going about it totally wrong or I'm too trustworthy.

I'm looking to join the local D/FW musicians union for the simple reason of possibly getting to play with better musicians or more commited musicians than the usual crap I'm running into lately.

After going to several jams and jamming with others on occasion at their homes or subbing and filling in, I've been told my playing is good and I am a solid drummer. Personally I don't have the desire to be the best, but I do want to be good and able to hold my own, so to speak.

I'm not looking to make big bucks as I already have a good job that pays the bills, but I would like the opportunity to play with and be exposed to better caliber of musicians than what I'm currently seeing.

Any ideas here? Am I expecting too much or being too sensitive? It just seems like I am either 1) running into musicians who claim to be "pros" yet can't put two chords together, much less play their instrument, or 2) so egotistical you'd think they invented music, or 3) can't lead or manage a band to save their life.

It's damn frustrating.

Bo Eder

Platinum Member