Tempo difficulty

Duck Tape

Platinum Member
I think I am noticing myself having some problems with tempo lately, and even losing the pulse a bit. For those that don't know me as a drummer, I think timing and feel are important and I put time towards practicing them.

Here is a random video of me playing a song to give you some idea (I know it's not brilliant but it's the last thing I filmed) https://www.facebook.com/DreCor/videos/vb.502228760/10155540718028761/?type=2&theater

Some scenarios...

Playing with sloppy musicians makes me really question my own time keeping and they have the power to pull me all over the place, or at least it feels like they are making me speed up/slow down. It's possible I'm staying solid but my mind assumes the tempo of the distracting musician (e.g musician who is pushing/dragging the tempo) and lets that become the "master tempo"' momentarily. When I watch playback of gigs it's not as bad as it feels up there on stage but then I don't film everything, so there might be instances where I am losing it as much as it seems.

Sometimes I want to tell other musicians that they should practice their part with a metronome because I think their shoddy timing is making my job harder and causing me to speed up/slow down. But I don't. I think if I conveyed this idea to a group of musicians they might say that I should have a strong enough inner pulse to not be phased by what's going on around me. I might counter that I am sensitive to what's going on musically and that is what helps me gel with an ensemble.

I think it's possible that all the focus I put into timing has made smaller changes in tempo seem bigger, as though I'm hearing in a higher resolution, and am much more alert to minor changes compared with the average muso.