Tell me about Paiste cymbals

rocker261

I bought a Tama Pancake kit just for practicing, and want to use the opportunity to try a different brand of cymbals on it. I've been Zyldjian guy forever, mostly A Custom and various Z series. I'm a hard rock drummer, and I like heavier, very bright cymbals (no dark or washy stuff for me). I understand Paiste has a different metal formula, but I've rarely heard Paiste cymbals up close, nor do I have drum shop close that stocks enough to try.

Since I like heavy, bright cymbals, I'm looking their Rude series, Signature Reflector, and also the Signature & Signature Precision lines (I don't know the difference between the two).

Can anyone enlighten me on those lines, what they sound like compared to Zyldjian? I know very little about Paiste sounds.

I'm a hard rock drummer, and I like heavier, very bright cymbals
You might want to check out the Paiste 2002 series.
Users: Working musicians, enthusiasts, all players who need energy and drive and want their cymbals to cut through the music in all settings. Notable past and present 2002 players include: John Bonham, Ian Paice, Cozy Powell, Phil Rudd, Alex Van Halen, Rick Allen, Tommy Lee, Stewart Copeland, Jeff Porcaro, Chester Thompson, Terry Bozzio, Bill Bruford, Charlie Benante, Nicko McBrain...

What I’ve noticed having switched from Zildjian to Paiste after 50 years is the lack of the low-end “gonginess” of the Zildjians. My Paistes are very clean without this low end hum I’d get with Zildjian. But I mostly play the Traditionals, Masters, and Giant Beat models, which sound very traditional, but without that low “dirty” sound I usually got with A’s and K’s.

switched from Zildjian to Paiste after 50 years is the lack of the low-end “gonginess” of the Zildjians
Yes! This. I just replaced my 1977 22" Zildjian ride with Paiste Signature 22" Full Ride. Brought my Zildjian to the shop and did a side-by-side with the Paiste and lack of "gonginess" was the main difference.