teaching drums

I know there have been threads on this issue, and many of them, but I was wondering if you lot can help me with my particular issue.

A girl at school has asked if I could teach her the drums. She had lessons a while ago but had to stop because her parents wouldn't let her get a kit to practise on. She sings in the choir at school so is musical, and has helped in the perc section of our orchestra when we need an extra pair of hands.
I've played drums for 6 and a half years, doing grade 8 next summer, and played percussion for 9 years. I still have most of my books from when I started learning.

Do you guys think this would be a good idea? I'm a little worried about the lack of kit to practise on, but I wouldn't be teaching for grades, so would this matter? I can always teach her to play the bed :p

Does anyone know what I could teach her first? Its a long time since I started, I was thinking maybe some rhythms on snare, basic stuff, then maybe involve feet and some rudiments, then co-ordinating limbs.

Any comments would be most welcome :)

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
Staff member
I was going to say, if you really want to teach her percussion or just looking for an in with her it may work, but you answered my question. "I can always teach her to play the bed :p"

Why not just ask her out on a date and move on.

now that wasn't what I meant :). I shall change my example and say 'I could always teach her to play the chair.'

Although that may not be much better...

And besides, I'm taken.

jeffwj

Platinum Member
Why wouldn't you send her to a teacher who is experienced in guiding students? I have students who don't have a drum set, so I don't see why that should matter.

Jeff

Why wouldn't you send her to a teacher who is experienced in guiding students?
Partly because all the ones round here have very few gaps, partly because she asked me, and partly because I could do with a bit of money :) I did ask her that, and she said she didn't want to.