Teaching.can anyone learn anything?

danbo

This weeks deep question.Is it reasonable to expect any able bodied person of any ability to be able to learn a complex pattern (or technique) with a high level of accuracy and quality, without having previously learned all the simpler patterns and techniques that would usually be taught.

I suppose we have to accept that the student is willing to put the work in and wants to learn it in the first place, but im talking in a general sense of skipping the learning of specific techniques individually, eg double bounces, just saying and showing 'this is how its played- now you try.'Obviously as the teacher you still break it down somewhat, but generally just teaching the lick as a whole?

Or is the accumulation of skills a key part to learning difficult licks.
Is persistance and 'just keeping on trying' enough to overcome a solid technique foundation?

Im no knot expert, but if someone showed me how and helped me learn i'm sure i could learn to tie a double triple prussic knot with half sheet bend given the right instructor.
Its not like trying to learn a double kick-flip with 360 without being able to do the basics, balance,ollie,360, surely.

Or is it???

your thouhts please

Danbo

jeffwj

Platinum Member
This can be a case of wanting to run before you can walk. When I was first learning, I would open up Modern Drummer magazine and try to play the more complicated things like the Gadd Mozambique. While I did learn the coordination, it was years before I really understood what the rhythms were in a musical context.

I don't think there are any shortcuts, but it does help a student's motivation to have a few "challenges" once in a while. There is no replacement for the basics.

Jeff

Last edited:

Skulmoski

Gold Member
In my opinion,

Competence = f(natural ability, attitude, experience, knowledge)