Suggestions For Recording Drums With A Tascam DP-008

TheBob

I bought a Tascam DP-008 to record my drums, but am looking for ways to get the best sound. I currently have Cad Pro 4 Drum mic set, but the tascam can only record 2 tracks at once. I was thinking of getting a mixer like this, but I am not sure if this is what I would need to get a good recording of a drum set.

I am new to recording, so I am looking for any advice or information you can provide.

http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-MG102C-Input-Stereo-Mixer/dp/B000Z7C9T8/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=3B0NN5PQA3R0B&coliid=I2VP4303U9SI65

Bo Eder

Platinum Member
What you need is to be able to record separate tracks into your computer. For instance, on my Mac with GarageBand, that application will allow input of up to 8 microphones, granted that you have an interface that will allow that many mics to be plugged in. Being able to EQ each separate track after the recording is much easier than trying to get a good stereo mix, pre-eq'd prior to recording. You'll be experimenting for a long time before you get anything acceptable.

Instead of getting the little mixer, get a bigger interface (I had the PreSonus Firepod at one point) and some additional mics for coverage.

You can make do with just two mics, though. In this case I would put one mic on the bass drum and one mic overhead to pick up the rest of the kit. EQ the overhead to pick up mostly highs (cut the bass a little bit), and on the bass drum mic, pull a little bit of the highs out as a starting point.

TheBob