Suggest Some Cymbals

gish

About me- I’m a weekend gigging drummer playing classic rock/pop stuff. My current cymbal set is fine; 15” new beats, 18” medium thin crash, 21” sweet ride. My cymbals are on the bright side of the spectrum. I find myself wanting a darker, more “mature” sound so to speak. Nothing too crazy dark; I seem to like the K dark thin crashes so that’s a starting point. I’ll be keeping my current cymbals, but looking for some suggestions for a darker, more mature general purpose set of bronze. Hats, crash, versatile ride. Open to any brand. If you guys have some standouts to suggest I’m all ears. Plan is to come up with a list of models to narrow the search a bit, then head to Dales in Harrisburg later in the year. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Last edited:

oldmetalhead

In my opinion the PaistePST7 line is the best bang for the buck. I have three of them and they are dark and warm. It's only my opinion and I am stuck with it.

roncadillac

About me- I’m a weekend gigging drummer playing classic rock/pop stuff. My current cymbal set is fine; 15” new beats, 18” medium thin crash, 21” sweet ride. My cymbals are on the bright side of the spectrum. I find myself wanting a darker, more “mature” sound so to speak. Nothing too crazy dark; I seem to like the K dark thin crashes so that’s a starting point. I’ll be keeping my current cymbals, but looking for some suggestions for a darker, more mature general purpose set of bronze. Hats, crash, versatile ride. Open to any brand. If you guys have some standouts to suggest I’m all ears. Plan is to come up with a list of models to narrow the search a bit, then head to Dales in Harrisburg later in the year. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
Try the Zildjian 18" uptown ride, I love mine. It would fit into your mix of cymbals very well and give you a dry voice without clashing what you've got already.

harryconway

Platinum Member
I've added a few Sabian "dark" cymbals to my array.