Students need experience

Drummers Alliance

I have been teaching drums for 30 years and equate learning drums to learning to drive.You don't learn to do it properly until you hit the road.Playing to music and grades is useful, but human interaction and experience is essential.If a student is not playing live after a year of tuition alarm bell start to ring for me.Any thoughts ?.Regards Toni Cannelli

BacteriumFendYoke

Platinum Member
There's no hard-and-fast rule but I would generally agree. I've played a lot of gigs as a drummer and a few as a guitarist but my relative inexperience with others has shown a few times with the guitar and the bass.

I read an article a while back about exactly this. I can't remember where I read it but the general advice was the same. You can practice all you like in your bedroom but working with others is where you learn the most quickly. Some great music has been written by people that have little instrumental experience but work with others very early on - look at Joy Division as an example. It helps musicians find their own voice. With the drums in particular - where we play as a 'backing' to others, being able to respond to other musicians is absolutely critical and the only way of learning that effectively is by playing with others.

Once a student has a decent grasp of basic technique, I'd be encouraging them to work with others as soon as possible. Some of the best fun I've ever had with other musicians was when I was new to the instrument(s). I remember having played guitar for a few months and then attending a theatre course. We wrote some really good songs as a group (with me writing much of the music) and despite the inexperience, working together with others really solidified my enjoyment and confidence.

This reminds me that I need to get back into the 'live' game.

No Way Jose

Silver Member