Student need feedback

Fox622003

Gold Member
Hello,
I'm 17years old and I'm currently studying music at college. I upload on my website a recent video of myself playing some ideas and concepts randomly. I would really appreciate your comments.

Here's the link: http://www.sebastienlachapelle.com/médias_eng.html

Ciao!
Your playing's alright and rather decently tight; in fact, you remind me a lot of myself in some aspects (even the setup, Gavin Harrison, anyone? I don't like 8" toms, though). One thing I don't particularly like is that you seem to be a bit lacking in ideas, as in a small vocabulary. I didn't hear much grouping in 3s, 5s and 7s (some in 3, like the displacing double pedal ostinato), you don't play much with ghost notes, to be honest, you don't really challenge the listener much rhythmically. Some faster double pedal would had made you look more technically proficient, too. The jazzy section didn't cut it for me, specially the way you repeated that Rll sticking fill several times, and it's just a cheesy fill, specially for jazz, and the sound doesn't help with the dynamics you were using, had it been more subtle, it would had fit much better. Your playing's fine, you are definitely on the right path, it was a bit boring for me to watch, however, and I didn't really see anything new or that I'd like to take for myself. I hope you don't get discouraged, these are (only) my thoughts exactly, nothing else. If you like Gavin's playing (as I said, you've got the same setup, so I'm just guessin'), you should check out more of his stuff (starting HERE - - full of fills and interesting rhythms), as those whacky things are what I felt lacking in this performance: You're playing alone after all, bring out the flash.

Fox.

Andy

Administrator
Staff member