Stop keeping time on ride and hi-hats

_alex.king.666_

Hi there, new here.

I've been playing for about 10 years and recently I've noticed that I've plateaued. I play for a jazz/rock group. I was wondering if anyone has a good idea on how to stop keeping time with the right hand on cymbals and hi-hats. I feel if I can break through playing quarter notes, eighth notes and sixteenth notes as a constant between the ride and hats for tempo, I can keep moving forward with my creativity.

Cheers!

My kit
Pearl Vision Series shells
14x5.5" Gretsch Energy share
20" Zildjian Custom A medium ride
14" Zildjian Custom A hats
16" Zildjian S Family crash

Xstr8edgtnrdrmrX

- do it left handed - called "open" style. Use your right hand for the back beat on 2 and 4
- use another surface like the rim, the floor tom...something to break up the sound monotony
- use alternated 16ths on the HH, or split between the HH and ride; or split between 2 toms
- use paradiddles split between the HH and ride, or toms
- play only on the ands, disco style

is this what you are looking for?

Jeremy Bender

Platinum Member
Have you considered moving your ride cymbal to the left side of your kit or if that's too radical getting an x-hat positioned next to your regularly placed ride cymbal to alternate sounds.

_alex.king.666_

I do have a secondary crash/ride that I could place on the left side. I guess mostly what I'm asking is how can I make my regular playing a bit more linear, much like my my fills?

SmoothOperator

Gold Member